A morning walk

Miles walked: 89.1 Miles to go: 410.9

When I signed up for the #Walk 500 Miles challenge, I had left it so late that I faced an average requirement of 3.5 miles every day until 31st December. If I’d signed up on 1st May instead of 6th August, it would have been just 2.05 miles per day. Oh well, there’s nothing like a bit of pressure. So far, I am managing to stay on track with that 3.5 miles average. Okay, perhaps clinging on by my fingernails would be a more honest assessment, but my concern is that I have several days coming up in the next few weeks when I know I won’t be able to do any walking. If I start to fall behind too much, I will never catch up so I have started to walk further than 3.5 miles each day in an attempt to claw back some bonus miles.

This is my current favourite walk which is part of one of Roger’s regular running routes. Basically, it climbs continuously to the village at the top of the mountain behind our house, a distance of 4.5 miles / 7.2km there and back with an ascent of 1080 ft / 329m: that’s equivalent to climbing a third of the way up Snowdon, which isn’t a bad post-breakfast workout, I suppose. Apart from anything else, it is a beautiful route with stunning views and an abundance of bird life. I can’t capture the sound of the streams and birds and cowbells  or the scent of eucalyptus and pine and evening primrose, but at least photos can tell the rest of the story. 

DSCF8126.JPG

The first few metres from the house are the steepest.

DSCF8127.JPG

I am soon in the peace and tranquility of the wood.

DSCF8130.JPG

DSCF8132.JPG

DSCF8134.JPG

Within a few hundred metres, I am high above the village.

DSCF8135.JPG

The way is not too steep, but climbs ever upward!

DSCF8136.JPG

Time to pause and drink in the view.

DSCF8138.JPG

There are fascinating rock formations all the way up.

DSCF8140.JPG

The sun is just catching the top of this outcrop.

DSCF8139.JPG

Purple and yellow are the colours of the season.

DSCF8187.JPG

DSCF8185.JPG

DSCF8141.JPG

Looking down into a deep wooded valley, I can hear the river in the bottom.

DSCF8142.JPG

Water trickles out of the rock in several places.

DSCF8148.JPG

Evening primroses scent the morning

DSCF8150.JPG

DSCF8153.JPG

The dark brown mass in the middle is a long-tailed tit’s nest – this tree is full of them.

DSCF8156.JPG

The water bubbling into this reservoir gurgles like a giant bog monster!

DSCF8160.JPG

A wayside butterfly bush

DSCF8181.JPG

DSCF8161.JPG

Time to check the view again.

DSCF8163.JPG

Rowan trees are not too common here; this one is a beauty.

DSCF8165.JPG

I’ve climbed out of the woodland into ,ore open farming country.

DSCF8169.JPG

Good morning!

DSCF8176.JPG

A field of maize . . . almost at the top now.

DSCF8171.JPG

Beans are planted to climb up the corn – two of the ‘three sisters.’

DSCF8172.JPG

The junction in the village: this is where I turn round.

DSCF8174.JPG

The view from the top.

DSCF8186.JPG

The good news? It’s downhill all the way home!

Leave a Reply

